Why I Do This

Someone has asked if I ever believed in god. Yes, I did.

I was a Christian for over 15 years. I was involved in ministry and took a great interest in apologetics. Because I still have a lot of friends and family who are Christians, I use this Twitter account rather than expressing all of my thoughts about religion under my own name. I am out as an atheist and I’m not afraid to talk about it in real life, but people get tired of it.

@almightygod is a way to express my thoughts about religion without hurting friendships, but it’s also a way to plumb the depths of the absurd ideas people believe. Many of my tweets are direct quotes from scripture or paraphrases. These seem to bother Christians the most. I guess they’d rather not think about some things their holy book teaches. Other tweets express an idea that people believe about god (e.g., god likes to be praised) in a more personal context (“I love it when people tell me how awesome I am.”) Expressing some ideas about god in the first person makes him look like a bit of an ass.

I’ve been at this project for over a year now and it’s therapeutic and enjoyable for me. I hope you enjoy it, too.

21 responses to this post.

  1. I’m a devout follower. Keep it up!

    Reply

  2. I do enjoy it, quite a lot.

    i too was once a Christian and I got pretty big into apologetics as well as the ministry. Kudos for what you do

    Reply

  3. Posted by Carla on September 30, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    I think what you are doing is pretty amazing. I enjoy reading your tweets (and Facebook) immensely.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matt P on September 30, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Keep it up!!!
    Love it!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Questioner on September 30, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    How do you deal with being “out” as an atheist? As a person who has been questioning my faith for many years, I find it very difficult to talk to friends and family about my beliefs. Also, what events lead to you changing your beliefs? You could be a great support to others out there who feel the same way you do, but keep silent.

    Reply

    • (Sorry if this isn’t kosher, Almighty God.)

      Find a community – in your area, like on Meetup, or online. You might try AtheistNexus.org or joining the Atheist Blogroll so you can read everybody’s posts, or friend a couple atheist groups on FaceBook. There are more of us and we are more out than ever. Find people you can talk to and they’ll help you the rest of the way.

      Reply

    • Questioner, you have to understand that your friends and family are not taking any kind of intellectual or moral high ground by believing in something that can’t be scientifically substantiated.

      If they can’t handle skepticism that should be a red flag that their beliefs can’t take it.

      Reply

  6. Posted by gingerroels on September 30, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I absolutely love your thought provoking tweets!! They haven’t changed my beliefs but they do make me look deeper 🙂 Keep it up!!

    Reply

  7. Oh I do enjoy it as well.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Terry D. on September 30, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Don’t you dare stop. Wasn’t it Noam Chomsky that said “If you are not offending people who ought to be offended then you’re doing something wrong.”

    Peace!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Michael on September 30, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I would probably be more willing to talk about atheism with friends if I were able to talk to about it with myself. I just don’t have the emotional willpower to deal with the truths I subconsciously know are true. Essentially, I would rather convince myself of the absurd than deal with the reality. Sure, that doesn’t separate me too far for those who’ve found religion — but at least I’m man enough to admit it. I keep it to myself, and follow along, Almighty God. Here’s to hoping everyone’s wrong for the right reasons.

    Reply

  10. I remain most inspired by Leviticus 1 – GOD REALLY WANTS YOU TO DO HIS BARBECUE RIGHT.

    Reply

  11. Posted by willgoodwin on September 30, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    you are one of the few “non-friend” followers I enjoy. some of your tweets are spot on. some are ridiculous & lack perspective. but regardless, I always look forward to what you have to say.

    sense I consider myself an apologist, I’d love to know what events led to your losing your faith.

    I also agree with some of the other commenters that you should not be afraid to speak out about your faith in no faith ;). then again, I’d really like for many “Christians” to keep their mouth shut.

    Reply

    • I was into the cosmological and moral arguments, but I had only a shallow understanding of them. After reading and thinking some more, I decided that they don’t cut the mustard for me.

      Reply

    • I didn’t “lose” faith. I fully rejected it and hope I have the intellectual integrity to continue being skeptical and honest.

      I think most former theists would say something similar.

      Reply

  12. Interesting to learn about the person behind the beard. Sounds like we have a similar background.

    I always said, as a Christian, “if what I believe is the ultimate truth of reality and our universe, I should be able to skeptically and critically challenge it – and it will stand up to the challenge”. After about 20 years of study and searching, the same-old apologetic answers just didn’t do it for me.

    Just “came out” to friends and family about 3 months ago and have also started a second twitter and blog to post things. (projectfreethought.org and @projfreethought). I still battle with the desire to be honest and challenge people without coming off as abrasive and arrogant. The blog has been a great way to invite people I know in for a non-confrontational discussion.

    I still post a status on Facebook every once in a while that I think better of and remove.

    Reply

  13. Great luck with this new blog! I’ll be sure to add it to my feed.

    Reply

  14. I survived a cult and escaped being appointed the next cult leader. Your tweets rock.

    Reply

  15. Gimme money so i can do my purpose, I been through hell and i am still here. I’m angry that no one gives a shit about anyone else but themselves. There are countless paths to the same outcome. Money is dead and it’s cleanup time right now. Now since money is the root of all evil( DaEvil). I never had any money and i don’t right now. Problem is i need money to get rid of money, fight fire with fire. Use money against it’s self for a peaceful resolution. If not, i continue to sing my song across the world here in poverty and violent revolution happens because no one will help me. SO BELIEVE IN GOD AND HELP ME OR FUCK YOU. simple huh? nonchalant247@gmail.com $1 is enough paypal.

    Reply

  16. Hardest part was rejecting 27 years of what i thought was truth. Truth that seemed to work predictably because i see the results with my own eyes. When the truth is I made the future happen, that was a possibility but was and still is a hard pill to swallow. I never asked for this, i just wanted to be invisible as a kid because everyone is so filled with hate. Now I own it all, and you fuckers won’t give it up so i can give it up permanently. That way no one, instead everyone shares everything. I got to make heaven. The name is dum8ass

    Reply

  17. I like your tweets, keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

